Before I quit my office job in Munich in 2012, I had a straight career: I studied biology, worked for three years in the United States and got a doctorate degree from the Technical University of Hamburg-Harburg in Germany. I was an assistant teacher at the university and later became PR consultant for the Biotech industry. But then the question of meaning cought up with me. I was sure that someone can give their life a new direction, when they are really excited about an idea.

I was curious about journalism for years, but the uncertain financial outlook has always kept me at bay whenever I thought about pursuing this path. Head choices are rarely the key to happiness. So I studied again to be a journalist. Some hands on training at a daily newspaper gave me the confidence to give it a try, so I became a freelancer.

Now I do reports about the endangered snow leopard in the high mountains of Kyrgyzstan or the parched salt desert of the former Aral Sea – I write about topics that I’m curious about, from the fields of environment, wildlife, outdoor sports and technology. The tab “Journalism” in the menu bar contains a list of work samples for various magazines and newspapers.

Hire me or inspire me – I’m always open for topic suggestions.

Best,
Adriane

Contact: adriane@globestories.com

Bevor ich 2012 meinen Bürojob in München gekündigt habe, hatte ich eine kerzengerade Karriere-Laufbahn: Ich habe Biologie studiert, drei Jahre in den USA gearbeitet und an der Technischen Universität in Hamburg-Harburg promoviert. Danach war ich in der Hochschullehre und als PR-Beraterin tätig – bis mich die Sinnfrage ereilt hat. Ich war mir sicher, dass man seinem Leben eine neue Richtung geben kann, wenn man wirklich von einer Idee begeistert ist.

Journalismus interessiert mich schon seit Jahren, allerdings haben mich die ungewissen finanziellen Aussichten immer abgehalten, diese Laufbahn wirklich einzuschlagen. Kopfentscheidungen sind nicht immer der Pfad zum Glück. Also habe ich Zusatzausbildungen gemacht an der Freien Journalistenschule und an der Akademie für Neue Medien, um die Grundlagen zu lernen. Im Praktikum beim Nordbayerischen Kurier habe ich den journalistischen Alltag erlebt. Später bin ich auf eigene Faust losgezogen.

Von Berichten über die bedrohten Schneeleoparden im kirgisischen Hochgebirge bis zur ausgetrockneten Salzwüste des früheren Aralsees – ich schreibe über Themen, die mich interessieren, aus den Bereichen Umwelt, Wildlife, Outdoor-Sport und Technik. Der Bereich Journalismus enthält eine Liste von Links zu meinen Beiträgen für englisch- und deutschsprachige Magazine und Tageszeitungen.

Egal, ob Aufträge oder einfach nur Ideen, für Themenvorschläge bin ich immer offen.

Beste Grüße
Adriane

Kontakt: adriane@globestories.com